Plugin Cafe Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plugin Cafe > SDK Help
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search

Issue with Cinema 4D Version

Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search
amlendra View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2018 Feb 01
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Issue with Cinema 4D Version
    Posted: 2018 May 05 at 1:40am

User Information:

Cinema 4D Version:   R19 
Platform:   Windows  ;   
Language(s):     C++  ;   

---------

I have created a plugin using the R19 framework, it is working fine with R19. I have tried to run this plugin with R18 but I found that it is not working. So what can I do to make my plugin generic that work with all version of cinema4D or I need to create the plugin for each version? Please do the needful.
Back to Top
spedler View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2008 Apr 19
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 680
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 May 05 at 8:42am
The simplest solution to this is to build the plugin in the earliest version of C4D you intend to support, then try it in later versions. In your case if you build it using the R18 SDK there's a very good chance it will run in R18 and R19. The other way round, it probably won't, as you discovered.

Once you do this you will know which versions of C4D you will have to build your plugin for.

Steve
Back to Top
amlendra View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2018 Feb 01
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 May 07 at 2:22am
So It means every time for the new version I have to build the plugin to use the same sdk.
Back to Top
Andreas Block View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 2014 Oct 01
Location: Hannover
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1878
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 May 07 at 5:23am
Hi,

it's just like Steve said, plugins are usually upwards compatible (plugin will work with later versions of Cinema 4D) but never downward compatible (won't work with previous versions of C4D).
This was the case for many years (plugins developed for R13 still had good chances running in R19), so much, many people seem to take this for granted.
Unfortunately we have to break this rule with R20. Please see our blogpost Plugin Compatibility for Cinema 4D R20

Cheers,
Andreas
SDK Support Engineer
Back to Top

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.61 [Free Express Edition]
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.