Plugin Cafe Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plugin Cafe > PYTHON Development
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search

change plugin's .h file,can not update

Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search
faxwang View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2017 Feb 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Direct Link To This Post Topic: change plugin's .h file,can not update
    Posted: 2018 Aug 27 at 3:58am
Hi,
For example, I set SPONE = 1001 in the header file, SPTWO = 1002, then I successfully loaded and ran the plugin in cinema 4d, but I changed the settings of the header file, such as SPONE = 1002, SPTWO = 1001 Then I run the plugin again in cinema 4d. I typed c4d.SPONE in the console but it will return 1001, and I didn't update the changes I made, even if I completely removed the plugin when I was in the console. When I type c4d.SPONE, it will still return 1001. It seems to be stored. I don't understand it very well. I want to know exactly how to ensure that the cinema 4d will be updated when I change the value in the header file again. What should I do?

Thanks!

Back to Top
NiklasR View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2010 Dec 13
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2575
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 Aug 27 at 10:42am
1) Add a prefix to your symbol names (as in FAXWANG_PLUGINNAME_SPONE)
2) The problem you encounter is due to the symbolcache. Hit the search with the term and you will find a bunch of threads
3) Because of the instability of the symbolcache, I always recommend keeping a copy of the symbol information in your Python code and NOT access them through the c4d module.

You can obviously automate converting the header files into Python syntax, for example with c4ddev.
Back to Top
Andreas Block View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 2014 Oct 01
Location: Hannover
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1878
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 Aug 28 at 4:41am
Hi,

we just wanted to quickly agree with Niklas, your issue will be related to the symbolcache.

Cheers,
Andreas
SDK Support Engineer
Back to Top
faxwang View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2017 Feb 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 Aug 28 at 5:47am
Thanks,NiklasR!
yeah,problem is symbolcacheWink
Back to Top
faxwang View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2017 Feb 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2018 Aug 28 at 5:50am
Thanks,Andreas!
Back to Top

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.61 [Free Express Edition]
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.