Plugin Cafe Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plugin Cafe > General Discussion
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search

Eclipse users - can you get code folding to work?

Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search
ingvarai View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 2012 Jun 19
Location: Norway
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 336
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Eclipse users - can you get code folding to work?
    Posted: 2013 Feb 05 at 1:06am
Hi everyone,
 
I installed Eclipse + PyDev yesterday. Seems very good for developing Python stuff in C4D!
But I cannot make code folding using the keyboard work.  Can you?
 
-Ingvar
Back to Top
NiklasR View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2010 Dec 13
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2575
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2013 Feb 05 at 10:21pm
Hi Ingvar,

This question is not related to the Py4D API, please post such questions in the General Discussion Forum next time.

Whats exactly means "you can't"? You don't find the shortcut or the shortcut doesn't work?



Best,
-Niklas
Back to Top
ingvarai View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 2012 Jun 19
Location: Norway
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 336
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2013 Feb 05 at 11:21pm
Hi Niklas,
Ok, I will try to pick the appropriate group the next time.
I know the shortcut keys. And I have even configured other keys and tried them. Regardsless - there is just no reaction when I press Ctrl + Numpad_Subtract or Ctrl + Numpad_Add
 
-Ingvar
 
Back to Top
Nachtmahr View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2013 Jan 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2013 Feb 06 at 12:56am
Hi ingvarai,

I looked after your problem (have to say I never used a keystroke before to fold code) and found the shortcut "Toggle Folding". In Pydev this doesn't work (as you mentioned). So I started a Java project for which Eclipse was made for. In a Java project the shortcut works, but it does exactly what it says: It enables or disables textfolding, it doesn't folds your code. So I think the function you're looking for is simply not existant. Sorry.

Nachtmahr

P.S: It's weird to see that all people involved in this thread speak german but communicate in english...


Edited by Nachtmahr - 2013 Feb 06 at 12:58am
Back to Top
ingvarai View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 2012 Jun 19
Location: Norway
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 336
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2013 Feb 06 at 1:35am
Hi Nachtmar,
 
I am not talking about toggling the code folding.
I am talking about collapsing a code block using one set of keys, then expanding the code block, using another set of keys.
 
If you go to Window/Preferences/General/Keys and search for Collapse you will find:
Collapses the folded region at the current selection
Ctrl+Numpad_Subtract
 
If you search for Expand you will find:
Expands the folded region at the current selection
Ctrl+Numpad_Add
 
None of these key combinations work, and code folding and expanding using the keyboard is soemthing I use all the time in Visual Studio. Using the mouse (which works in Eclipse) is too cumbersome, too time consuming, fiddling with the tiny nitty gritty small + - icon.
 
When it is there, I take it for granted that it i supposed to work.
 
> P.S: It's weird to see that all people involved in this
> thread speak german but communicate in english...
 
I am Norwegian, but speak fluent German and also write an acceptable German.
English is the default language here I think, because it will reach a larger audience. But I am really happy that I know German, because many excellent German Cinema 4D video tutorials have helped me a lot.
 
-Ingvar
 
 
Back to Top
Nachtmahr View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 2013 Jan 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 33
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2013 Feb 06 at 1:49am
Hi Ingvar,

I tried your shortcuts in a Java project and there it works fine. In a pydev project the same keys doesn't work. So I suppose that this is a feature which was not integrated in the pydev module.
Back to Top
ingvarai View Drop Down
Member
Member
Avatar

Joined: 2012 Jun 19
Location: Norway
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 336
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 2013 Feb 06 at 2:02am
Ok Nachtmar,
then I got it confirmed. Where can I submit a feature request for this?
 
-Ingvar
Back to Top

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.61 [Free Express Edition]
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.